After months of the official launching of Windows 10, since it was a public holiday yesterday and I finally get to “cool off” myself to run an upgrade my DELL Latitude E7440 running on Windows 10 Insider Preview to a RTM. As most laptops doesn’t come with any DVD ROM (including mine) any longer, all I’d to do is extract the ISO contents into a USB thumb drive and run the bootsect cmdlet to make the USB bootable.

I’d an existing partition from a single disk and I’ve stored most of my important files & documents on the second partition, so all I’d to do is select the partition which I intend to wipe out and give a fresh installation to my laptop during the Windows 10 wizard setup. Well… life isn’t that straight forward as expected when I’d selected the partition that I’d wish to install Windows 10 after deleting a couple of other partitions from the previous setup, the wizard had stopped me from moving forward with the following error message:

Windows cannot be installed to this disk. The selected disk is of the GPT partition style

OK – this isn’t good as I’d not make any external backups of my files and I can’t wipe off the entire disk (the second drive is actually just a partition) to convert it to MBR so allow the Windows 10 setup continue. At first I thought it was due to the UEFI hardware compatibility issue, so I’d tried changing the BIOS settings into allowing legacy devices but no luck, the wizard still returns with the same error message and selecting the second partition doesn’t help as well (Duh, the entire disk has been GPT’ed)

A quick search on the Internet saved my day – basically there’s a tool known as Rufus actually allows to abstract ISO images and create into a bootable USB. Using this sneaky little tool, all I’d to do is select the following settings on Rufus:

Rufus ISO Bootable

  • Select the USB thumb drive that you intend to extract the ISO contents into
  • GPT Partition schema for UEFI (*IMPORTANT*)
  • NTFS File System
  • Select the Windows 10 ISO image
  • Leave the remaining options to its own default values
Click Start to create the Windows 10 USB Bootable Media and there you go, another Windows 10 into an existing laptop🙂