Plantronics has came out with a very cool method of updating the firmware on Bluetooth headsets – which is via their MyHeadset Updater running on web-based and I’ve updated mine using the same way as well.

However, after the update, I notice that my headset couldn’t pair with the Bluetooth dongle that comes with the device (BT300)

Plantronics BT300

Couple of the forum threads had suggested to delete and uninstall the using the Device Manager and re-pair the unit again, some even suggested to drain the battery completely so that the headset will automatically detect and pair back with the dongle. In which I’ve attempt both and no luck; pairing it with my Surface Pro 3 in-built Bluetooth works but the Voice Quality was extremely bad while running Lync Voice Calls.

In the end, I decide to create a ticket with Plantronics support and I would like to share this to those whom are experiencing the same problem as I did before (since there’re no blogs about it):

  1. Plug the Bluetooth Dongle (BT300) to the machine
  2. Hold down the Pick-up/Hang-Up Button for 5 seconds till you see the indicator turns Blue and constantly blinking

Pairing 00

Once the pairing is completed, you should be able to hear the Headset indicates that “PC 1 Connected” and you’re done🙂